I work in ...

Continue

Your content is being adapted
based on your type of business.

Street food is on the rise as diners and celebrity chefs alike love its authenticity and robust flavours. There’s an emerging trend of hotel menus that are inspired by the fusion of ethnic street food and traditional fare. It’s rapidly gaining popularity thanks to help from celebrity chefs and diners who like its honesty, simplicity and intense flavours.

Last year, Fox News’ programme Chew On This reported that Gordon Ramsay and Anthony Bourdain labelled Singapore street food as “one of the hottest food trends of 2016”. Ahead of the curve, Australian Chef David Thomson brought Thai street food to high-end dining at his Singapore restaurant Long Chim, while TV chef Susan Feniger opened her South Hollywood restaurant, Street, in 2009 after being impressed by the food she had eaten on the streets of India.

 

 

Street food has been overtaking fine dining as many diners became disenchanted with nouvelle cuisine. 

Move Over, Meat

It’s also been a trend among hoteliers for a while and Leslie Stronach, Executive Chef at the InterContinental Bangkok, has long sung the praises of the city’s street food, as has Martin Faist at Absolute Hotel Services in the Thai capital. And a stamp of approval recognised in 2015 when Michelin launched a guide – but no stars – for Hong Kong and Macau street food.

Street food is about variety and freshness served with little fuss. But while each street hawker specialises in just one recipe, professional kitchens can deliver exotic dishes from all over the world to the buffet table. Flavours have always fused, so that Vietnamese cooking merged with French baguettes to form the banh mi (local sandwich), and today Mexican tacos can happily carry Asian spices.

It’s popular because it’s associated with fun. Travellers feel adventurous eating with local people; squatting on plastic stools by hawker carts in Hanoi with a banh mi is a badge of pride for backpackers. So when diners find good street food served up in hotel buffets, they associate it with leisure, pleasure and adventure.

Bringing street food into the spotlight, Singapore has an annual World Street Food Congress, and the UK has its own ‘Oscars’, the Street Food Awards. The Bourdain Market, named after the globe-trotting TV chef, is looking for partners and investors to bring high quality street food to New York.

Street food was designed to feed large numbers cheaply and efficiently, but it is loved by people from all walks of life. A 2007 study from the Food and Agriculture Association put the number of people eating street food every day at 2.5 billion. The fact that rich and poor alike enjoy it means it adapts very well to professional kitchens.


One thing that a hotel can bring to the party is better hygiene. While in the old days vendors carried food on trays and baskets on their heads (where it could fall victim to passing birds), healthy hawker fare has become a priority today. It’s another reason why the excitement of the street marries perfectly with the reassurance of the hotel kitchen.

Back to TOP FOOD TRENDS

我来自…

继续

您所看到的内容将会随您选的业务类型调整

街边小吃正在兴起,这是由于食客与名厨们都喜欢其正宗传统而又浓郁的口味。在一种新兴的趋势中,连酒店业者也开始在他们的菜单中融入街边小吃和传统美食。这个趋势迅速流行起来,全因名厨和食客钟爱这些菜肴的传统风味、简单呈献方式和浓郁口味。

去年,福克斯的节目《Chew On This》报导称 Gordon Ramsay 和 Anthony Bourdain 将新加坡的街边小吃称为“ 2016 年最热门的食品潮流之一”。作为这个潮流的先驱,澳大利亚厨师 David Thomson 将泰国街边小吃引入其在新加坡的高档餐厅 Long Chim 中,而电视名厨 Susan Feniger 在印度街头品尝了印度的街边小吃之后,于 2009 年在南好莱坞开了一家名为 Street 的餐厅。

 

 

由于很多食客不再钟爱新式料理,街边小吃开始取代高档餐饮成为潮流。  


这种潮流在酒店业者之间也早有先例,InterContinental Bangkok 酒店的行政主厨 Leslie Stronach 很久之前就引入了曼谷的街边小吃,曼谷 Absolute Hotel Services 的 Martin Faist 也做了类似的举动。2015 年,米其林专门针对香港和澳门的街边美食发布了一份指南,但是没有评星级。

街边小吃讲究的是便捷地提供多元化的新鲜美味。虽然每个街边小贩只会专长于一种美食,但是专业的厨房可以将来自全球的异域风味带入他们提供的自助餐饮中。不同的风味经常被融合在一起,例如将越南式烹饪与法式长棍面包结合就制成了 Banh Mi (当地三明治),而墨西哥玉米饼也与亚洲香料完美搭配。

由于它充满乐趣,因此广受欢迎。旅行者与本地人一起用餐时能感觉到冒险氛围,在河内蹲在塑料板凳上享用Banh Mi 对背包客来说是一种骄傲的象征。因此当食客在酒店自助餐中看到美味的街边小吃时,他们通常会将其与休闲、愉悦和冒险精神联系起来。

为了大力推广街边小吃,新加坡每年会举办全球街边小吃大会,而英国也有自己的”美食奥斯卡“ 街边小吃大奖。以全球知名电视大厨命名的波登美食广场正在寻求合作伙伴和投资者,以便将高品质的街边小吃引入纽约。

街边小吃的初衷是为大量人群提供价格亲民且高效的餐饮,但是却受到了各行各业人士的追捧。食品和农业联合会在 2007 年的一份调查中发现,全球每天享用街边小吃的人数大约为25亿。无论是穷人还是富人都很享受这种美食,说明其能轻易地被带入专业厨房。



酒店能改善的一个地方就是提供更卫生的餐饮。在过去,小贩将盛装食物的托盘和篮子顶在头上(可能被路过的小鸟抢食),而如今,提供更健康的街边餐饮成了更优先的头等大事。这也是街边小吃能与酒店厨房完美融合的另外一个原因。