I work in ...

Continue

Your content is being adapted
based on your type of business.

Vegetables are muscling out meatier options on the plate as diners recognise their health benefits, and restaurants make eating them fun. This requires creativity and an attention to what is seasonal.

The classic picture of the Western meal is meat and potatoes, with vegetables lurking on the side. Whether it’s a slab of steak, a piece of chicken, some fish or a rich stew, chances are that meat is the main element.

That’s changing. Not that vegetarian food is pushing meat off the plate altogether. Instead, innovative vegetable dishes are taking centre stage, part of a worldwide shift that places vegetables at the forefront of dining, according to food consultants Baum and Whiteman.

Several factors have come together: rising beef prices, fear of chemicals in meat, farmers’ markets selling more exciting vegetables, growing interest in seasonal food, and more people being ‘flexitarian’ –vegetarians some days, but not others.

More restaurants, such as Al’s Place in San Francisco (named best new restaurant by Bon Appetit magazine in 2015) serve vegetable-centric dishes with an innovative twist. Their menus have meat under ‘side dishes’.


To balance this, they make vegetables more inventive, such as broccamole (guacamole made with broccoli), turnip-kale stem pesto, and sunchoke curry, made with a delicate tuber that tastes like artichoke but belongs to the sunflower family.

The spiralising fashion is at the heart of this trend of enlivening vegetable dishes, and kitchens are creating spaghetti alternatives from zucchini, squash, sweet potatoes and beets. Houlihan’s restaurant and bar chain in the US has launched an ‘inspiralised’ menu with a butternut squash and sausage lasagna and Thai noodle salad with the noodles made from zucchini, mango and peppers.

This trend of moving meat to the side is more of a feature in Western cuisine, while Asian food has a long tradition of using smaller amounts of meat as highlights in dishes that mainly comprise of vegetables. Meat has more often been used as a flavouring than a focus and, as the New York Times put it, cooks “save fish and meat for moments when extra depth or intensity are needed”.

So this trend is showing itself in Asia through more creative vegetable dishes. Vegetarian grocer-café The Real Food Grocer, which has three branches in Singapore and one each in Malaysia’s Penang and Kuala Lumpur, has inventive vegetarian options such as chickpea and sweet potato cakes, and burger patties made from beet, carrot, millet, onions and zucchini.

According to the Vice President of the Singapore Chef Association, Chef Eric Neo, this creative approach to preparing vegetables has made them more appealing to diners. “Healthier dining has always been around,” he says. 

 

 

“But chefs being creative have made vegetarian dishes more colourful and tastier. I think the trend will grow to include a larger audience.” 

And diners love vegetables even more if they are organic. According to F&B product experts Innova Database, sales of organic products climbed from 5.9% to 9.3% from 2013 to 2015, while vegetarian products climbed from 7.8% to 10.5% in the same period. Couple that with the rising cost of meat (beef prices are set to rise between 12% and 15% in 2016)[1] and the World Health Organisation’s link between processed food and cancer,[2] the time is right for vegetables to take centre stage – or at least centre plate.

 

[1] http://agroinfo.com/en/news/2016-beef-price-will-rise-12-15/

[2] http://leadership.ng/news/493616/linked-processed-meat-cancer

Back to TOP FOOD TRENDS

我来自…

继续

您所看到的内容将会随您选的业务类型调整

随着人们已了解蔬菜的健康益处,以及餐厅为素食增添趣味,蔬菜正在抢占肉类的空间。这需要创意和对各种时令蔬菜的关注。

西餐的经典画面中,常出现肉类和马铃薯,而蔬菜则受到冷落。无论是牛扒、鸡肉、鱼还是丰盛的炖菜,肉类总是主角。

但时代正在改变。素食并没有完全取代肉食。然而,据美食顾问 Baum and Whiteman 表示,创新的蔬菜料理开始成为主角,有些地方已将蔬菜作为餐桌上的首选。

几个并列原因:牛肉价格上升、担心肉类含有化学物质、农产品市场售卖更多精彩蔬菜、对季节食物的兴趣增加,以及更多人是“弹性素食者”——偶尔几天吃素,但不是天天食素。

已有更多餐厅提供以蔬菜为主的创意佳肴,比如三藩市的 Al’s Place(被 Bon Appetit 杂志誉为 2015 年度最佳新餐厅)。肉类在他们的菜单中被归为“配菜”。


为了让素食和肉食更加搭配平衡,他们把蔬菜做得更有创意,例如:西蓝花鳄梨酱(以西蓝花制成的鳄梨酱)、芥蓝茎香蒜醬和菊芋咖哩,它以细小茎块制成,味道类似鲜蓟但却属于向日葵科类。

活力十足的蔬菜佳肴是这股风潮主轴,各厨房都在以西洋南瓜、南瓜、番薯或甜菜制成意大利面的替代品。美国的 Houlihan’s Restaurant and Bar 连锁店推出了一个“灵感”菜单,其中包括奶油南瓜、香肠烤宽面条和泰式面条沙拉,其面条是以西洋南瓜、芒果和胡椒制成。

从肉食转素食的趋势只在西餐中特为出奇,而亚洲菜肴传统上以蔬菜为主的菜肴还是会加入少许肉类作为搭配。肉类更常用作调味而非主角,正如纽约时报所说的那样,“把鱼和肉省下,只在需要额外深度和浓烈味道时派它上场”。

因此,这股趋势为亚洲带来了更创新的蔬菜料理。素食杂货咖啡馆 The Real Food Grocer 在新家坡拥有三间分店,在马来西亚的槟城和吉隆坡各有一间分店,提供许多创意素食选择,例如:鹰嘴豆番薯饼,以及由甜菜、胡萝卜、小米、洋葱和西洋南瓜制成的汉堡肉饼。

据新加坡厨师协会副主席 Eric Neo 厨师透露,这种创新的蔬菜料理方式更能吸引顾客。他说:“健康的膳食的需求一直都在”。 

 

 

“但厨师的创新赋予了素食佳肴更多的色彩和味道。我认为这股趋势会持续成长,带来更多追随者。” 

如果顾客是蔬菜爱好者,他们会更喜欢有机蔬菜。据餐饮产品专家 Innova Database 透露,有机产品销售额从 2013 年的 5.9% 攀升至 2015 年的 9.3%;而同一时期,素食产品则从 7.8% 攀升至 10.5%。再加上肉类成本不断上升(牛肉价格预计在 2016 年从 12% 增加至 15%)[1] ,世界健康组织也提出了加工食品和癌症的关联,所以蔬菜是时候成为主角,或至少被受重视了。[2]

 

[1] http://agroinfo.com/en/news/2016-beef-price-will-rise-12-15/

[2] http://leadership.ng/news/493616/linked-processed-meat-cancer