I work in ...

Continue

Your content is being adapted
based on your type of business.


As one of Singapore’s premiere pastry chefs, Chef Mimi is surprisingly candid about the fact that she doesn’t have a sweet tooth. So, what inspires this dessert artisan to create tantalising cakes, macarons and crème brûlée, if not for a love of desserts? 

Chef Mimi’s journey to becoming a pastry chef is an inspiring story – with delightful highs, painful lows and heart-warming in-betweens. 

01.22


Learning through experimentation

Chef Mimi’s beginnings as a chef started from watching her parents, especially her father, in the kitchen. As a child, young Mimi would stare mesmerised as her dad cooked his famous sambal egg, among other favourites. She remembers his amazing sense of taste, refined from a lifetime of cooking. 

This future chef had a natural inclination toward culinary exploits, spending her early years watching her parents whip up delicious food in the kitchen. She relates her experiences of secretly cooking when her parents weren’t home – experimenting with spices simply based on their colours, in her early (though not always successful) efforts to recreate her mum’s best dishes.

The importance of ingredients

Chef Mimi’s first attempt at baking came at the age of 12. After months of watching the popular Yan Can Cook and (especially) Chef Wan’s baking show on TV, the adolescent girl was raring to try her hand at this new craft. Her wish was granted when her father bought her a Tefal tabletop oven.

The then-aspiring baker made her first cake in that oven, which turned out to be a sunken mess (because she used the wrong sugar) – but it was her first-ever cake and she was delighted with her creation. 

More importantly, young Mimi had learnt her first lesson in baking, a lesson that would prove instrumental in the years ahead as she learnt the ways of a pastry chef – your ingredients matter. 

From this experience, Chef Mimi discovered the importance of studying every detail and quality of each ingredient available to her. Her mind transformed into a repository of colours, tastes and textures, as she memorised how every ingredient could add (or subtract) from a baked creation.

 

“It’s this constant process of experimenting with ingredients and learning that inspires me every day. This is what I truly love about being a pastry chef.”

Buy any of these twin packs

Making her mark

After excelling in pastry and baking at SHATEC, Mimi was upbeat about her prospects. Getting recognised in a then-male dominated industry though, would prove a challenge that would test more than her culinary abilities. Besides feeling like the odd one out among her male peers, work was very physical. 

As a pastry cook, Mimi would carry 25kg bags every day, working from daybreak till night, with no rest days for months at a stretch. There were no leniencies afforded to her just because she was a girl, nor did she wish to be treated differently anyway. All she wanted was for the opportunity to prove herself. 

And she was rewarded for standing out, with an exhilarating rise from Pastry Cook, to Chef de Partie, Pastry Sous Chef, Head Chef and eventually, Executive Sous Chef. 

A mad (pastry) scientist, or detailed architect?

Chef Mimi’s creations are as beautiful to savour, as they are to look at. But what drives this chef to create desserts of impeccable quality? 

To Chef Mimi, the answer is simple. An intrinsic fascination with the science of ingredients, a vivid imagination that conjures up new recipes 24/7, an insatiable need to create, and an unflinching dedication to quality. 

“I love studying ingredients, dreaming up new flavours, textures and combinations. Once I’m overloaded with ideas, I have an overwhelming desire to create – that’s where I see which ideas work, and which need to be reimagined. It’s this constant process of experimenting with ingredients and learning that inspires me every day. This is what I truly love about being a pastry chef.”

 

“I enjoy experimenting with new ingredients, and was pleasantly surprised by some of the options available from UFS, especially Planta Margarine.”

Collaborating with Unilever Food Solutions (UFS)

Chef Mimi was invited to the UFS kitchen and given ingredients to play with, an experience that she relished. 

“I enjoy experimenting with new ingredients, and was pleasantly surprised by some of the options available from UFS, especially Planta Margarine – which I now prefer over butter when creating some of my favourite cake recipes. 

I’ve found that Planta Margarine improves the taste, structure and volume of cakes. Even better, it cuts baking time by about 30% and lowers costs – crucial factors for chefs, restaurants and hotels – as it improves turnaround and profitability.”

What’s next?

18 years into her journey in this industry, Chef Mimi is still excited about what each new day brings. These days, this chef spends just as much time mentoring aspiring chefs, as she does crafting new recipes, baking and tinkering to perfection.

She enjoys sharing her recipes and techniques with future chefs, as well as the philosophies that have brought her success.

“Only serve something you would be proud of. It isn’t about meeting deadlines or doing ‘just enough’. Always demand the very best of yourself, because your diners deserve it.”

Download Chef Mimi's Artisan Pastries Recipes book

Download Chef Mimi's Artisan Pastries Recipes book

Learn how to make irresistibly unique pastries using Knorr Golden Salted Egg Powder and Planta Margarine.

Download now
Download Chef Mimi's Contemporary Cakes Recipes book

Download Chef Mimi's Contemporary Cakes Recipes book

Get inspiration for some moist, flavourful cakes that’ll keep your diners coming back for more.

Download now
Download Chef Mimi's Modern Art Dessert Recipes book

Download Chef Mimi's Modern Art Dessert Recipes book

From Mango Sticky Rice in a Cup to Pandan Chempedak Cream Puffs, discover some innovative modern art pastry recipes that’ll revitalise your menu!

Download now

我来自…

继续

您所看到的内容将会随您选的业务类型调整


作为新加坡优秀的糕点师傅之一,Mimi 很坦白地透露了一个让人颇感意外的事实:她自己本身并不嗜甜。所以,如果不是出于对甜食的爱,又是什么启发这位甜点巨匠做出了那些诱人的蛋糕、马卡龙和焦糖布丁呢?

Mimi 师傅成功晋升为糕点师傅长的道路是一个励志故事 — 一个夹杂了欢欣、痛苦和感动的故事。

01.22


边尝试边学习

Mimi 师傅的烹饪之旅始于她的父母,尤其是她的父亲。儿时的 Mimi 总是用着迷的目光看着父亲煮出他最拿手的叁峇鸡蛋。她一直记得,他那由丰富的终生烹饪经验培养出的神奇味觉。

这位未来的大厨对烹饪有着天生的喜爱,童年时期便开始观察她的父母如何在厨房里做出美味的食物。她透露,自己会趁父母不在家时偷偷尝试烹饪。为了重现她母亲的拿手好菜(虽然不如妈妈做得好),她会根据香料的颜色进行各种试验。

食材的重要性

Mimi 厨师在 12 岁那年首次尝试烘焙。在观看了数月的《甄能煮》和旺师傅的电视烘焙秀后,这位少女迫不及待想要尝试这项新的手艺。她的愿望实现了——父亲送给她一台特福牌台式烤箱。

那时,这位满腔抱负的烘焙师用这台烤箱做出了她人生中的第一个蛋糕。虽然这个蛋糕因为用错了糖,而成了一团塌陷的奶油,但她仍然为自己的第一个作品感到万分欢欣。

但更重要的是,这让年轻的 Mimi 上了烘焙的第一堂课,这堂课将在她日后学习烘焙的岁月里起到至关重要的作用——不可忽视食材。

在此次尝试中,Mimi 师傅发现,细心研究食材的所有细节和质感非常重要。随着她熟记在蛋糕里增减每一道食材的可能性,她的脑袋也成了色、味和质感的存储库。

 

 

“在食材上不停地做出尝试和学习的这个过程,每一天都能给我带来启发。这就是我喜欢做一名糕点师傅的原因。”

奠定里程碑

Mimi 以优异的糕点及烘焙成绩从新加坡酒店管理学院毕业后,对自己的未来充满了信心。而比证明自己的厨艺更具挑战性的,是她要如何在当时由男性主导的工作环境里得到认可。和一群男性共事,除了感觉格格不入以外,工作时的体力消耗也非常大。

作为一名糕点师傅,Mimi 每天不仅要扛25公斤重的袋子,更得从破晓工作至深夜,甚至接连好几个月不休息。没有人因为她是个女孩而优待她。当然,她也不希望自己被区别对待。她只想要一个证明自己的机会。

最终,她的杰出表现收获了回报,一路快速晋升,从糕点师傅到厨房主管厨师、糕点副厨师长、厨师长,终于,她被任命为行政副厨师长。

疯狂的(糕点)科学家,抑或精细的建筑师?

Mimi 师傅做的糕点色香味俱全,不但好看,而且好吃。是什么原因,促使这位厨师长在做甜点时,致力于打造出无可挑剔的质量?

对 Mimi 师傅来说,答案很简单。对食材科学发自内心的喜爱、开创新食谱的生动想象力、对创作有着无法满足的需求以及对品质全身心投入的追求。

“我喜欢研究食材,构想新的口味、质感和组合。每当我有很多想法的时候,我就会产生巨大的创作冲动。也正是通过实践,我才知道哪些想法可行,而哪些想法需要重新构思。在食材上不停地做出尝试和学习的这个过程,每一天都能给我带来启发。这就是我为什么喜欢做一名糕点师傅的原因。”

 


“我享受试用新食材的过程,所以联合利华饮食策划提供的某些选择经常让我感到惊喜,比如他们的 Planta 面包油。”

与联合利华饮食(UFS)策划合作

受邀来到联合利华饮食策划厨房的 Mimi 师傅长得以尝试新的食材。

“我享受试用新食材的过程,所以联合利华饮食策划提供的某些选择经常让我感到惊喜,比如他们的 Planta 面包油。比起牛油,现在我更喜欢用 Planta 面包油来完成我最喜欢的蛋糕食谱。

我发现 Planta 面包油能改善蛋糕的味道、构造和体积。更妙的是,Planta 面包油可以减少 30% 的烘焙时间,同时也降低了成本。这对厨师、餐馆和酒店来说非常重要,因为它缩短了周转期并增加了利润。”

下一步是什么?

入行 18 年,Mimi 师傅长仍然会为新的每一天感到兴奋。如今,她除了创作新的食谱、烘焙及追求精益求精,也花费大量时间指导有志于此的学徒。

她喜欢和未来的厨师们分享她的食谱和技巧,并向他们传授促使她成功的人生哲学。

“只呈上让你为之骄傲的作品。不是为了赶在最后期限完成工作或满足于停留在‘刚刚好’的阶段。必须一直要求自己做到最好,因为食客值得你的付出。”

下载 Mimi 师傅长的精美糕点食谱

下载 Mimi 师傅长的精美糕点食谱

学习如何利用家乐金沙咸蛋粉和 Planta 面包油制作出诱人独特的糕点。

即刻下载
下载 Mimi 师傅长的当代美味蛋糕食谱

下载 Mimi 师傅长的当代美味蛋糕食谱

获取制作当代美味蛋糕的灵感,让您的食客回味无穷。

即刻下载
下载 Mimi 师傅长的现代艺术糕点食谱

下载 Mimi 师傅长的现代艺术糕点食谱

从迷你芒果糯米饭到潘丹尖必叻奶油泡芙,这些创新的现代艺术糕点食谱能让您的菜单增添新鲜感!

即刻下载

更多关于斋戒月灵感