Menu

I work in ...

Continue

Your content is being adapted
based on your type of business.

When developing cheese-based recipes, cheese powder might not an ingredient that immediately comes to mind. But compared to blocks of cheese, using powdered cheese reduces your prep time in the kitchen, while delivering comparable quality. Usually made from hard cheeses such as gouda, cheddar, or parmesan, you will be surprised at the versatility of cheese powder and how it can be used.

 

Cheese Powder vs. Real Cheese: Which is Better?

The first thought that might come to you mind when comparing between regular cheese and cheese powder may be the superior taste of regular cheese. The truth is, modern production techniques ensure cheese powder stays true to the taste of regular cheese to deliver a rich and authentic taste, depending on the brand.

Some cheese powder products are highly versatile. You can either use the cheese powder as-is by adding it into your dish, or turn it into cheese sauce by mixing the powder with hot water. Compared to regular cheese, where you must grate, chop, or melt the cheese to match your recipe, powdered cheese is a convenient alternative that lets you quickly whip up dishes to reduce customer waiting time.

Powdered cheese also has a longer shelf life and are highly compact. Instead of having big blocks of cheese taking up space in your fridge and risk turning mouldy or expiring, you can easily store cheese powder in your kitchen at room temperature, with little risk of turning bad quickly. Just remember to store it in a dry area, preferably in an airtight container, and away from sunlight.

For example, the versatility of Knorr’s instant cheddar cheese powder, which is made of cheddar cheese, means you can use it as seasoning or as an ingredient in your dish, without compromising on taste. Compared to buying blocks of cheese, it is also cheaper, where you can save up to 40% on cost.

A final note when selecting cheese powder: check its intended usage first before making the purchase. You want to buy those that are cooking additives, and not only for sprinkling over food. The manufacturing and expiry dates of the cheese powder are also very important. Read the packaging information first before buying.

 

How to Prepare Cheese Powder

Even though cheese powder is a good substitute for regular cheese, you still need to take note of the type of cheese used in the recipe. You don’t want to use powdered Swiss cheese in a recipe that requires cheddar cheese as it could ruin the taste of the dish.

If you are turning the powdered cheese into a sauce, make sure the liquid and powder are mixed thoroughly to prevent lumps from forming. This is especially important if the sauce is the highlight of the dish, such as mac and cheese, cheese curry, and cheese fondue.

 

Recipe Ideas for Cheddar Cheese Powder

The versatility of cheese powder means it can be used in a wide variety of recipes. Here are some of its uses:

  • Cheese popcorn: Best made with cheddar cheese powder, our cheese popcorn recipe only requires 4 ingredients and takes about 10 minutes to make. Great for restaurants with long waiting queues and want to give diners something to snack on while they wait!
  • Mac and Cheese Burger: Instead of using regular cheese, save time on cooking the mac and cheese by replacing the roux with cheese sauce, and use that time saved to upgrade it into a burger by stacking it between chicken patties!
  • Cheese Fondue: Usually made using shredded cheese, flour, and milk as base ingredients, you can easily substitute them with cheddar cheese powder mix, a cream soup base, and add in other ingredients such as onions, chilli powder to spice up the flavour to whet your customers’ appetites.

Besides substituting regular cheese in classic recipes, you can also use powdered cheese to create innovative recipes and surprise your diners, while staying relevant in the competitive food industry:

  • Pastas: While pastas are usually topped with cream or tomato-based sauces, you can replace those sauces with cheese-based sauce to create dishes such as Fusilli with Gorgonzola Cheese Sauce or Hickory Cheese Pasta.
  • Masala Cheese Curry: This Indian cuisine with a European touch adds a layer of cheesy overtone to the rich and spicy kick of the masala curry, which is sure to tantalise your diners’ tastebuds.
  • Lobster Cheese Beehoon: The cheese from the sauce will permeate through the dish, while preserving the umami from the lobster. You can even top the dish with fresh, flame-grilled cheese.
  • Cheesy Fried Frog Legs: Give this dish a cheesy and spin by using cheese powder and curry leaves, and offering as a new menu item!

You can even use it to add cheese flavour in breads by sprinkling it into the dough or as seasoning for pizzas by sprinkling over them. As cheese can get too cloying if used in large amounts, remember to monitor the quantity used. Start with a small amount first, and gradually increase the amount to suit your desired taste.

Knorr Instant Cheese Powder Mix 205g

Knorr Instant Cheese Sauce Powder Mix lets you craft your own cheesy creations easily. Made with Cheddar cheese powder to deliver an authentic taste, this versatile ingredient is lets you create a variety of different Western, Asian and fusion dishes, such as cheese dips and other meals with cheese sauce. Preparation for easy cheese dishes is quick —  all you have to do is to dissolve the cheese powder mix with hot water. While there are various dehydrated cheese powders in Singapore, Knorr Instant Cheese Sauce Powder Mix is specially designed for the freeze-thaw cycle at central kitchens. Quality is guaranteed with its long lasting flavour, together with the same texture and consistency for up to 24 days.

Find out more

Knorr Pro Cream Soup Base Mix 1kg

Knorr Pro Cream Soup Base Mix is made with real roux and creamer to help you deliver a rich, creamy base in just 5 minutes, which is versatile for extension into a wide variety of soups, or as a base sauce for pies, sauces or casseroles.

Find out more
Menu
Recipes
Products
Courses

Menu

我来自…

继续

您所看到的内容将会随您选的业务类型调整

当我们在烹制采用芝士的菜肴时,我们经常忽略了芝士粉。与芝士块相比,芝士粉能减少您在厨房准备的时间,最后上菜的成果却不相伯仲。芝士粉通常以硬质芝士制成,例如高达、切达或帕玛森,其多变及多用性令人为之惊喜。

 

芝士粉与纯正芝士:哪个比较好?

当我们在比较普通芝士和芝士粉时,您首先想到的或许是普通芝士的无比美味。事实上,现代食品科技已经能做出与普通芝士风味相当的芝士粉,好的品牌能让您尝到同样浓郁正宗的味道。

一些芝士粉能变化出多种用途。您可以直接把芝士粉加入菜肴中,或是和水制成芝士酱。回头看看普通芝士,您还得根据食谱所需进行削、切、融、煮各种步骤,而芝士粉取出就能使用,令烹制过程更简便,食客也无需久等。

比起普通芝士,芝士粉的保存时限更长,也轻巧省位。与其让大块芝士占用冰箱空间,或是面对发霉或过期的风险,不如选用芝士粉,既能方便地把它存放在室温空间,也能减少快速过期变质的风险。只需把它放在干燥处,避免阳光直射,能存放在密封容器中是最好不过了。

比如家乐牌即溶芝士粉就是用途多变的芝士粉,它以切达芝士制成,无论调味或作为食材,味道都有过之无不及。它也比芝士块实惠,能帮您节省高达40%的成本。

最后一个购买芝士粉的小贴士:购买前记得查明产品的用途。您要购买的是用作食品添加材料的芝士粉,而不是撒在食物上作为佐料的芝士粉。芝士粉的制造及赏味期限也很重要。购买前记得详阅包装上的资讯。

 

如何料理芝士粉

虽然芝士粉能很好地取代普通芝士,您依然得先了解食谱对芝士的要求。如果您用瑞士芝士粉取代食谱要求的切达芝士,那可能会将这道美食毁于一旦。

如果想用芝士粉制作酱汁,切记要先彻底溶解芝士避免结块。如果是芝士酱担当主角的菜肴,例如芝士通心粉、芝士咖喱及芝士锅,这点就更为重要了。

 

融入切达芝士粉的菜肴灵感

芝士粉用途多变,适用于各式各样的食谱中。这里就有一些例子:

  • 芝士爆米花:这个芝士爆米花食谱选用切达芝士粉最理想,只需要4种材料,而且10分钟就能完成。经常大排长龙的餐馆,最适合用它来招待排队等待的食客!
  • 芝士通心粉汉堡:制作芝士通心粉时,可用芝士粉调配的芝士酱来取代普通芝士油面糊,省下的时间能让您更用心地把芝士通心粉摆放在汉堡肉之间,令食客的视觉和口感享受大大提升!
  • 芝士锅:芝士锅底通常以芝士丝、面粉及牛奶作为基底食材,现在您能用切达芝士粉取代普通芝士,混合奶油汤底,并加入洋葱、辣椒粉等材料增加风味,即是一锅惹味的诱人佳肴了。

除了替代经典食谱中的普通芝士,您也能用芝士粉烹制创意十足的新菜品,不仅能带给食客惊喜的味觉享受,还能在饮食行业中保持竞争力。

  • 意面:虽然意面多配搭奶油或番茄酱汁,您也可以用芝士酱汁替换,呈献出别具一格的菜肴,例如戈贡佐拉芝士酱螺旋意面山核桃芝士意面
  • 玛萨拉芝士咖喱:融合欧式风情的印度料理,增添了一层芝士风味,让浓郁香辣的玛萨拉咖喱更加打动食客的味蕾。
  • 龙虾芝士米粉:酱汁中的芝士能渗透入食材中,同时保留龙虾的鲜美。您甚至可以在菜肴上撒上芝士粉,然后炙烧出焦香的口感。
  • 芝士炸田鸡腿:在这道美食中加入芝士粉及咖喱叶,即能变化出全新诱人的新菜品!

芝士粉也能为面包增添浓香口味,只需在面团或披萨面皮上撒些芝士粉,就这么简单。过量食用芝士会容易令人产生腻感,切记要控制份量。先从小份量开始,然后逐步增加直至达到理想的口味。

家乐即溶芝士酱粉 205g

家乐即溶芝士酱粉采用切达奶酪粉制成,能带来人人爱不释口的正宗浓香奶酪味道。虽然在新加坡市面上可以找到玲琅满目的脱水乳酪粉,但家乐即溶芝士酱粉的配方经过专门调制,适用于中央厨房的冻融循环。即使长时间存放,依然能保证品质如一,持久味道以及质感和稠度皆能长达24天不变。

了解更多

家乐精选忌廉汤底 1kg

家乐精选忌廉汤底是以真正的奶油面糊和奶精所制成,在仅仅 5 分钟内帮助您即刻呈现出美味的汤底。您可巧妙地延伸成各种汤类,或用作馅饼,酱料或砂锅菜肴的底酱。

可能含有极少量的谷类包含麸质,鱼类,甲壳类,贝类,大豆,花生及坚果。

了解更多

更多关于西式菜肴