I work in ...

Continue

Your content is being adapted
based on your type of business.

Menu layout

Before a potential guest even sets foot into your restaurant, chances are that they would have already searched for your menu online. The layout of your menu is one of the first visual impacts you can have on your guest to win them over.


For most Western restaurants, the menu is broken down into these main categories:

  • Appetisers
  • Soups
  • Salads
  • Mains/Entrées
  • Desserts


However, depending on the theme of your restaurant, your menu should reflect the flow of progression of the meal. For example, sharing plates have become very trendy in recent years, and you can use them as appetisers in your menu if it fits the theme. This is another good way to add colour to the experience. You can also get creative with how you want to present the menu – some restaurants use blackboards, clipboards or a mounted frame to create a bigger ‘wow’ factor.

Menu wording

How are you describing your food?

Dishes should be described in a clear, simple way that also piques the diner’s interest. Think of your words as strokes coming together to form a mental painting in the mind of your guest. Badly described or overly complex sounding dishes draw a blank and chances are they won’t be ordered.

Keep the description of your food simple

Use simple, easy to understand language and avoid being too wordy. Stay away from terms that only kitchen staff would understand. By giving simple names to your dishes, you are personalising them and that helps them to stand out in the mind of the guest. Try playing around with the words of a slow-moving dish and it might just become your next bestseller.

Finally, and most importantly, check for any spelling mistakes that might have slipped past your radar and correct them immediately.

Menu pricing

As every chef worth his salt knows, understanding how to calculate food costs is one of the most important aspects of running a kitchen. The general gauge for food costing lies in the region of about 32% of your retailing price. Take into account all the ingredients that go into making the dish before working out the menu prices.

Be consistent with your pricing in the menu. Don’t let prices fluctuate too much with dishes in the same category as guests might be turned off by the higher priced item. For example, you wouldn’t want to sell a fish dish for $20 and a steak for $70. Lastly, round off your prices so it doesn’t include a strange figure like $28.75. Don’t forget – a simple menu is a good menu.

我来自…

继续

您所看到的内容将会随您选的业务类型调整

菜单排版

在一名潜在的食客步入您的餐厅之前,他可能已经上网搜索了您餐厅的菜单。菜单的排版是给食客的第一视觉印象,决定了他们是否会继续浏览。


对于大多数西餐厅来说,菜单一般分为以下几大部分:

  • 开胃菜
  • 汤品
  • 沙拉
  • 主菜
  • 甜点


不过,取决于您餐厅的主题,您的菜单应当对应着就餐的顺序。例如,近年来共享餐盘非常流行,如果它们符合您的主题,您可以考虑将它们列为菜单中的开胃菜。这是另外一种提升体验的方式。您也可以设计极具创意的菜单呈现方式,有些餐厅使用黑板、剪贴板或钉在墙上的框架来呈现菜单,带来让顾客眼前一亮的效果。

菜单的措辞

您要如何描述您的菜肴?

您应当以清楚、简单的方式描述菜肴,同时引起食客的兴趣。菜单的文字会在食客的脑海中组成一幅画,所以描述不得体或者过于复杂的菜肴名称可能会让食客困扰,因而很可能不点这道菜。

保持菜肴介绍简明

使用简洁、明了的语句,不要长篇大论。切勿使用只有厨房工作人员才能听懂的行话。给您的菜肴起简单的名称,体现个性的同时,还能有助于给食客留下深刻印象。对不太受欢迎的菜肴,试着调整其描述词句,也许它会成为您的下一道畅销菜。.

最后,也是最重要的,检查是否有之前没有注意到的错别字,并且立即改正。

菜单价格

每个称职的厨师都知道,了解如何计算食物成本是管理厨房最重要的方面之一。一般来说,一道菜的成本应当大致占菜肴零售价格的 33%。在计算菜肴价格时,应当将所有用到的食材考虑进去。

在制定菜肴价格时要保持一致性。同类别的菜肴价格不要波动太大,否则顾客会因为某些菜肴价格太高而放弃。例如,您不会想要将一道鱼的价格定在 $20,却将牛排的价格定在 $70。最后,您的价格应该取整,而不要出现诸如 $28.75 之类的零头。别忘了 — 简单的菜单才是优秀的菜单。


更多关于西式菜肴